Wild Girls

You may remember I bought that book from BookDepository. Well, I did buy it during the exams period and only recently I had time to read it.

It was recommended to me by Camy Tang when I asked her about writing a story mainly about two characters. I never imagined she would give me a book about writing, wrapped in a nice story.

As usual, the back cover synopsis is plain. The colourfulness of the book cannot be resumed in a sentence or phrase.

Mainly, the story is about two girls at the verge of their teenage years, trying to figure out what awesome things to do in their spare time; which does not include make up, malls and boys. Yes, it is true, they win a writing contest and that triggers the entire actual plot, but that happens almost in the middle of the book.  And I found that fascinating- as a writer and a geek, if one might wonder why.

The girls attend a summer writing class with a college professor who teaches them how to write. And this is how I get to my point. The girls attend eight classes during eight weeks and for each class they have to write an assignment. Their teacher gives them tips and advice on writing.

Guess what I’ll be doing this summer? *yay*

Okay, so , FIRST CLASS.

In that first class Verla asked a lot of really strange questions and she said stuff like: You’re the only one whho knows the answer to this question. Questions like these don;t have right or wrong answers. If you don’t know the answer, make up ans answer. Later you can figure out if it’s true.

Here are some questions she asked:

  • What was the first thing you heard when you woke up this morning?
  • If you got to take one thing from your bedroom before a meteor hit your house and destroyed everything, what would you take?
  • What does your room smell like?
  • What would you most like to eat for breakfast? Why?
  • How do you feel about papaya?
  • What’s your favorite color?
  • What scares you? Why are you afraid of that?
  • If you had ten thousand dollars and you had to spend it all in the next hour, what would you buy?

The first thing I heard when I woke up was the sound of  my phone’s alarm. Then ducks and chicks from my yard.
I’d most probably take one book and my blanket. Because one always need a good story and to be warm, even with a meteor on their house.
Currently my room smells like shampoo and shower gel but most times it smells like crowded books and boxes and dust.
I love sandwiches made in the sandwich-maker: with melted cheese and ham. It’s like the perfect sandwich, but warm and with melted cheese. Nothing beats melted cheese.
I feel it’s orange and probably sweet.
My favorite color is blue, the same color of the Red Sea.
It scares me that I could do something wrong about something someone else cares about and I screw it up big time.
I’d buy a house.
“You’ve got to pay attention,” she said ” When you write a story, you want the person reading to see and hear  and smell the world you make up. Pay attention and describe what you see”
..
At the end of the class she gave us two homework assignments.
“First, I want you to interview someone who is at least fifteen years older than you are. Find out where that person was when he or she was your age. What were they doing? What did they care about? What were their plans, their hopes, their dreams? Write down your questions and their answers. That’s the first assignment.
Second, I want you to write about something that really scares you.”
Leave a comment

Filed under Books and Movies Reviews, jurnal

Leave a Reply

